The 5 best quarterbacks in the history of Cincinnati Bengal


The Cincinnati Bengals just lately drafted Joe Burrow with the primary general decide within the 2020 NFL Draft. The LSU product grew to become the fifth quarterback taken by Cincinnati within the first-round since 1970. Solely a kind of first-round picks became a dependable starter. Nonetheless, Burrow can add his identify to that shortlist after only some seasons.

Cincinnati boasts a steady of stable quarterbacks who skilled blended success throughout their careers with the Bengals. It received’t take lengthy for Burrow to crack the top-five, however the 23-year-old may by no means surpass the best quarterback in franchise historical past.

5. Jeff Blake (1994-1999)

In contrast to the opposite quarterbacks on this checklist, Blake wasn’t drafted by the Bengals. As a substitute, the New York Jets chosen him with a sixth-round decide in 1992. Finally, Blake made his strategy to Cincinnati.

In 1994, Blake made 9 begins for the Bengals. The next season, he went 7-9 as a starter and made the Professional Bowl. Whereas Blake went 8-Eight in 1996, he by no means statistically replicated his 1995 season.

Blake solely began 13 video games between 1997 and 1998. He did earn most of Cincinnati’s begins in 1999 however departed the next offseason. Blake by no means led the Bengals to the playoffs.

4. Carson Palmer (2003-2010)

In 2003, the Bengals used the primary general decide on Palmer. The USC product didn’t see any enjoying time throughout his rookie season, however Palmer took over because the starter in 2004.

Throughout his eight seasons in Cincinnati, Palmer made two playoff begins. They each resulted in Wild Card Spherical losses for the Bengals. With frustrations reaching a boiling level, Cincinnati traded Palmer to the Oakland Raiders. Palmer left the staff that drafted him with a 46-51 common season report.

3. Andy Dalton (2011-2019)

Cincinnati jumped on Dalton when he fell to the second spherical in 2011. Throughout his 9 years with the Bengals, Dalton made three Professional Bowls and 4 playoff journeys. Sadly, he by no means received a playoff recreation with Cincinnati.

After drafting Burrow, the Bengals launched Dalton this offseason. He signed a one-year cope with Dallas, hoping to reclaim a beginning function subsequent 12 months.

Dalton by no means received any main awards, however he grew to become one of the vital constant quarterbacks through the previous decade. His 70 wins as a starter and 31,594 passing yards rank second in franchise historical past. Dalton holds the franchise report with 204 passing touchdowns.

2. Boomer Esiason (1984-1992, 1997)

The Bengals drafted Esiason with a second-round decide in 1984. The Maryland product sat behind a veteran for his rookie season earlier than taking up the beginning function. Esiason spent the primary 9 seasons of his profession in Cincinnati earlier than departing for New York. He returned for the ultimate season of his profession in 1997.

Esiason made the performs twice as Cincinnati’s starter. In 1988, he led the Bengals on a tear. They went 12-4, and Esiason claimed the league MVP award and a First-Workforce All-Professional choice. Cincinnati clawed its strategy to the Tremendous Bowl earlier than Joe Montana’s San Francisco 49ers ended the staff’s championship hopes. Esiason performed poorly within the Tremendous Bowl, finishing 11 of his 25 go makes an attempt for 144 yards and one interception.

Esiason introduced Cincinnati again to the playoffs in 1990, however his staff didn’t get previous the Divisional Spherical. Esiason’s 62 wins as a starter, 27,149 passing yards, and 187 passing touchdowns all rank third in franchise historical past.

1. Ken Anderson (1971-1986)

In 1971, the Bengals drafted Anderson within the third spherical. Regardless of not being a high-round choice or coming from a outstanding school, Anderson grew to become the staff’s starter in his second season. He didn’t lose the beginning job till 1985.

Anderson earned a First-Workforce All-Professional choice and received the league MVP and Offensive Participant of the Yr awards in 1981. He received the Comeback Participant of the Yr award too, which the Skilled Soccer Writers of America (PFWA) gave out. That postseason, Anderson skillfully guided the 12-Four Bengals previous the Buffalo Payments and San Diego Chargers.

Sadly, Cincinnati bumped into Montana’s 49ers within the Tremendous Bowl. Anderson threw for 300 yards, two touchdowns, and two interceptions within the 21-26 loss.

Anderson acquired Cincinnati again to the playoffs the next 12 months, however the Bengals misplaced within the Wild Card Spherical. He by no means began one other playoff recreation.

Anderson completed his profession with 4 Professional Bowl picks. He’s Cincinnati’s all-time chief in passing yards and wins by a quarterback.

After main the NFL in completion proportion 3 times, yards twice, and passer score 4 instances, Anderson has a borderline Corridor of Fame résumé.

Alex Smith

andy dalton,ken anderson,bengals quarterbacks history,bengals qb 2019,carson palmer,cincinnati bengals quarterbacks since 2000,bengals qb 2020,boomer esiason